• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Greetings from New Jersey (Aberdeen, not Asbury Park!)

Started by VickiD, November 25, 2012, 03:48:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

VickiD

Hi, to all the photo restorers out there. I'm new to OPR and am thrilled to be able to help with this worthwhile project.

I've pondered this move for a couple of years and finally feel I'm ready. Being in the area recently affected by Hurricane Sandy has made this hit close to home and I'm finally ready to make this commitment. I'm a Photoshop "junkie" and have been using PS since version 7 (about 10 years ago--I now use PSCS6). My skills have been honed through many training sessions and seminars and conferences. I now teach those skills to others and love sharing what I know--it's fun to watch that light bulb go on over someone's head! Fun as all that is, I receive the most satisfaction from restoring and retouching images that might otherwise be lost. Seeing the looks on the faces of the owners has been a thrill I wouldn't miss. I know that part of the equation will be missing here, but still love the idea of helping others.

Thank you for affording me this opportunity. I'm thankful to be able to help.

VickiD
Vicki DeVico

Mhayes

Hi Vickid and welcome to OPR from Kansas!

How interesting that you start Photoshop with version 7 as that is how I started too and picked up training in a variety of ways. I found OPR by the link that Katrin Eismann had on her website with exercises to work from her book: Photoshop Restoration & Retouching.

Seeing that you are in New Jersey, you may have the opportunity to help with a copy run there. Right now the planning is for New York, but we do want to help your state as well. Most likely it would be later in the spring.

Hope to see you on the Forum again.

Margie
"carpe diem"

Margie Hayes
OPR President
[email protected]

VickiD

Margie,