• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Help on restore

Started by CariLeigh, December 21, 2009, 03:28:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CariLeigh

I am having quite the hard time with this photo. I am afraid I may have gotten in over my head. It looked a lot easier than it really is.

This is what I have so far.

First off the background is black really to begin with, also, I can't tell where her hair ends, I have tried levels, curves and various lightening techniques and cant tell he hair from the background. Lastly, his jacket, I am just lost. What can I do?

I am a beginner and I thought this one would be ok, but apparently I am having issues. I really do want to learn how to fix pictures anyway so any help, tips and advice is appreciated!

Johnboy

CariLiegh,

It looks to me that you have a biggggg spotting job. I downloaded your image and then copied the original to a new file and did a new Levels adjustment. Personally I like my color a little better. You seem to have the skin tones blown out on yours so you may want to rethink your color correction. I would suggest going for good skin tone and let the rest of the photo fall where it may. Looks like some florescent lights in the background that are not that important. From there add a couple new layers. One for Stamping and one for Healing. I would suggest that you do the clone stamping first. Then create a new work in progress layer, and then do some healing brush work on it to even out some of the work. You may need to do some Patch tool work also.

As you see I did some quick stamping and healing on the man's shoulder which looks to be solving the problem. Also did some healing on the woman's blue sweater. Be sure that the healing and stamping layers are above you color correction.

I would suggest suggest that you post the images separately then we can see your progress easier. Some of use have old eyes.

Good luck.

Johnboy