• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Christmas Is Coming - Another Santa Picture

Started by klassylady25, August 12, 2007, 10:11:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

klassylady25

I'm still learning... this self-teaching has it's drawbacks.  You don't know that you don't know and it's oft time very frustrating. Which is where I am right now.  You may notice that I rarely tell someone what to do, because I've been teaching myself for 5 years and still feel like I'm standing still.  Could be the summer heat though. Who knows. 

You may get the opportunity to work on this one Kurt and if you do just let me know.  Question:  Once you get it out of Lab, then what? 

schen

WOW!  Kurt, you are the man.  I always thought A channel is an arbitrary mathematical creation and never looked into it.

Given that the color is so faded, would it be better to restore a gray scale picture from the A channel then color it?
Shujen Chen
Windows 10, Photoshop CS6

glennab

Kurt, the magic man -- How did you pull that out of the A channel?  I usually try LAB, but I couldn't get anything from this one. (I'm still stuck about halfway through the book on LAB color space.  It baffles me!)  We need some tips & tricks!  What you did was amazing.

Glenna
What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal. ~Albert Pine

(Photoshop CS5 /Mac Pro)

phischer

Quote from: glennab on August 14, 2007, 12:05:29 AM
Kurt, the magic man -- How did you pull that out of the A channel?  I usually try LAB, but I couldn't get anything from this one. (I'm still stuck about halfway through the book on LAB color space.  It baffles me!)  We need some tips & tricks!  What you did was amazing.

Glenna

Nicely done Kurt.

Glenna I believe that if you want to get anything usable from the A or B channels you first have to invert them. Then you can do a levels or curves adjustment on the channel and sometimes you will see some good info.