• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Best approach for this image?

Started by claycrowell1956, February 01, 2016, 01:25:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

claycrowell1956

I'm not quite ready to admit defeat but I'm getting close on this one. I'm having difficulty removing all of the damage covering their faces. You can see most of the features of the faces behind these smudges but they are so thick that they remove all texture. I've tried several approaches but the one that seemed most promising was using another face to capture texture but I'm still running into issues with shaping and contouring the face (noses and eyes mostly) and I don't want it to end up looking like someone else. I'm a photographer, not a painter so I'm not happy with my results. I've erased most of my attempts because the image has morphed too much into a face that doesn't look close enough to the original so I'm just posting the original with color correction.

I thought I would at least post it before admitting defeat to see how others would have approached this image.

KernionB_5_6_8x10_before_after by Clay Crowell, on Flickr

philbach

:D
Well there doesn't seem to be a torrent of suggestions for good reason.   Personally I don't know if I could restore this but if I was stuck with this problem this is how I would proceed. 

First the only good news is that this is a painting so you can get away with restoration a bit more. 
Second I would plan on restoring the luminosity alone first and color in later. 
So the first step I would do is to place a blank new layer above the original layer and use apply image to put the green channel above the background layer.   Then just work on the green channel.

Use levels or curves adjustment Layer on the green channel to get the proper contrast.
Stamp a new layer above the levels layer.
Copy the layer and put a layer mask on the newly copied layer to select the trio.