• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Question from a newbie

Started by Octavia Larkspur, January 08, 2013, 04:21:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Octavia Larkspur

Hello everyone. I am new to OPR and logging in today really for the first time. Is it correct that I only see 5 images all in Bambi's gallery on Photoshelter? I have the feeling I am doing something wrong. It seems like there should be many more photos that need restoring then I am seeing. Any advice would be helpful. Thank you.
-Stephanie
(Berkeley, CA)

Mhayes

Hi Stephanie,

You are doing nothing wrong. What happened is that we might have had enough photos to last until we made it to our next copy run in New York set for Feb 2-3, but once the call went out on Adobe Facebook's page and later an article in NAPP's magazine---we were flooded with volunteers and all of the photos that were left were taken with the exception of what you are seeing Bambi's Gallery. It was wonderful to get so many new volunteers, but unfortunately we ran out of photos except for what you are seeing.

There has been a suggestion from one our Aussie volunteer to use this time to put out some former photos for a group contest that would make for a good learning experience before we are back in business. I am open to this, but would like to know if there is much interest. I have done group restores that are open to everyone and in the past haven't really haven't had much success.

If this sounds like something all of you would want to do, post here.

Thanks Stephanie and it will get a lot more fun around here in another month.  >:D

Margie
"carpe diem"

Margie Hayes
OPR President
[email protected]

bjtx

Margie & Aussie volunteer:
Contests with earlier photos, along with pertinent Q&A  would be interesting & fun.  I definitely would try to participate in such challenges.  However, I hope voting will not be involved, because (IMO) that might put a damper on participation.
Betty  :)