• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

I am worn out - help please!

Started by cwalker, November 26, 2011, 07:00:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cwalker

Hi Everyone,  this is my first time posting to the forum and my 4th restoration. 
This poor girl is gonna be an old woman with GREY hair by the time I get done with her...or maybe I will be for sure!

This is my 3rd attempt at this one.  I've left the obvious mottled arm and "painted on hair look" so you can see what Im up against.  Not to mention the bazillion orange dots throughout.  I tried the approach that I read about here in the forum (replacing the blue channel or whichever with the Lightness channel in LAB but it didnt work or I didnt do it right - which is entirely possible  :D

It's been too long that I've worked on this one  HELP!

Claire in San Diego

☮ Claire

Mike S.

Hi Claire,

Can you post your original picture and your work in progress?  That way we can get an idea of what you are up against.

Thank you,

Mike
Mike S.

cwalker

I sure tried!  i posted the links to each to Flickr according to Tess' directions,  because I can't figure out how to get them "within" the post.  Should I try Photobucket?
☮ Claire

cwalker

☮ Claire

Mhayes

Hi Worn Out Claire,

Great to see you posting on the forum. I think you are off to a great start, but wonder what your method of choice is for restoring? I am guessing the clone tool? If I was working on this photo from this point I would be do layers and masks.  For the hair where you have the painted look, I would take the lasso tool and pick and area that would come close to the damaged area. Once I lassoed that area I would hit Crtl or Cmd J to put that selection in the layer above. You can then move, rotate, scale to move into place. Also, when you use the lasso feather it 2 pix. You can do a layer mask so that you can keep what you want and conceal what you don't. Once you get what you like, you can merge down.