• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Class of 1935

Started by david_gr, October 29, 2010, 01:40:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

david_gr

I see 3 different shades of background for this photo.  Does anyone know an easy way to make the background consistant throughout?  The sepia shown in number 2 would be my choice.

As you can see I am just beginning on this one. I used a multiply layer to bring out some of the detail.  It makes the colors richer not so washed out.  I have done the Principal and 2 girls to the left.

All comments, suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

David Gr   :)

Ausimax

David, just my take on this one, I would probably convert to B/W to restore and change to sepia when I had completed the restoration.

Re: The background I would select the colour you think the background probably was and creat a fill layer with this colour adding noise to creat texture, then place this layer below your working layer, then add a mask to your working layer and paint out the old background on the mask.

This is the method I have found most usefull on badly damaged text documents.

Max
Wisdom is having a well considered opinion .... and being smart enough to keep it to yourself!     MJS

"Life" is what happens while you are planning other things!

Hannie

Over a hundred restores for the price of one...  aren't you lucky David!

Hannie
Hannie Scheltema
Distribution Coordinator
[email protected]

david_gr

Hannie, I know I'm a glutton for punishment.  But for some reason, I find group pictures like this interesting as well as a challenge.

Max, Thanks for the advice. 

Folks, Don't expect this any time soon but I think it will a great learning experience and fun to do.  (I know a weird sense of fun!)

Some of the captions are illegible but I will do what I can.

David Gr  :)

david_gr

Here is what I have so far.