• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Wedding Dance

Started by oehlers, June 28, 2009, 11:58:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

oehlers

Just finished my first attempt at my first picture. Hope that I'm posting the link correctly:

http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo/BoATY20oMJ3LM4vuybmBbg?feat=directlink

I've cleaned up the obvious damage, and worked on the color. Things that still bother me on this one:
1. Overall the photo still looks a bit blurry and muted.
2. The garland around the window is a bit tricky - I've worked with it quite a bit but still not loving it.
3. The arm to the right of the dancers is rather odd - I didn't get rid of it, but it doesn't add much to the picture.

Any suggestions? (Be kind - I'm a newbie! :-\)
Thanks,
Susan

glennab

Hi Ms Newbie Susan

Welcome to OPR from Florida!

I'll try my best to give you some useful feedback on this one.  First, I think you might want to do a bit more color correction.  It appears to me that you may have a bit too much blue.  (I don't know if you've found them yet, but we have several tutorials on color correction that work well most of the time.  There are other times when you'll have to do extra tweaking.  Often color correction with curves will get rid of the darker areas that should have more definition, as in the man's lower face.)

As for the blurry photo – many of these are snapshots, so many weren't as sharp as they should have been to begin with.  We try not to do much, if any, sharpening.  The only sharpening I ever do is with the high-pass filter, and then very seldom and subtly.  Most of the time more flaws will appear with sharpening, and we have plenty of those to go around already.

Margie or your distribution coordinator can verify my opinion, but I'd lose the floating arm.  It adds nothing to the restoration, and it's not identifiable as a particular person's appendage.