• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

New from central California

Started by krishirt, November 26, 2008, 07:48:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

krishirt

I'm excited to be joining this group - it certainly looks challenging! I do love restoring photos, it's kind of like magic happening. I hope I'm up to what I'm seeing here - most of my work, like a lot of others, hasn't been quite at this level. I understand what it means to people though, and don't have a problem with not hearing directly from anyone. I work as a graphic designer in a non-profit adoption and foster care agency, and see how important photos can be for helping to provide a context for one's life. Once I had to try to make an image of a child's birth mother, the only picture this child had, from a black and white copy off an old ID card. I wasn't happy with the result, but it was better looking than what I'd started with, and the child was thrilled. We keep original photos and I print copies for the children that go from one foster home to another, so if those get ruined, we can print again - and they DO get ruined and lost. When that happens, the child's history and sense of themselves is diminished as well - visual histories are very important. I consider myself at an intermediate level with Photoshop, but I'll find out, won't I?

Tess (Tassie D)

Welcome to the forum krishirt . You have a wonderful job helping those kids in need. I'm sure you'll get enjoyment and lots of frustration out of our photos. :)
Tess Cameron
Distribution Coordinator
[email protected]

Mhayes

Welcome to the forum Krishirt! We are happy to have you join and looks like you have a wonderful start already. That is great what your are doing and I think you will find the forum is a great way to get tips on photos that give you problems.

QuoteI consider myself at an intermediate level with Photoshop, but I'll find out, won't I?