• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Color or B&W ????

Started by GP, September 23, 2008, 03:47:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

GP

Here is a little challenge for all you color correction experts:

Is this portrait in color originally or does it just have a bad case of color cast? I'm still undecided and would appreciate some input from you.

PS CS5, PSE9, XP, Windows 7 -64bit

mitzs

I am not a expert, but on her chin and going down her throat to her shoulder area in between that yellow color looks like real skin tone to me. I've never seen a black and white photo where you could actually see the skin tone color like that.

Tess (Tassie D)

Hi Gerlinde, I get colour when I run it through the filter.

Tess Cameron
Distribution Coordinator
[email protected]

GP

Thanks, mitzs and Tess, for your input.
I'm still not completely convinced that this photo should be in color. Shouldn't her pupills have some shade of color too?

GP

Hannie

Gerlinde, I think the photo is in color and that the lady's eyes are grey.

Hannie
Hannie Scheltema
Distribution Coordinator
[email protected]

glennab

Ditto, Hannie.  I agree that it's a color photo. She appears to me to have light auburn hair and gray/hazel eyes. What I want to know is how in the world you'll fix her face.  The only thing I can think of is to make a desaturated layer just for the face - mask off everything else, because her hair is pretty decent, repair the uneven shades and any other flaws and then add a color layer for her skin.

GK
What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal. ~Albert Pine

(Photoshop CS5 /Mac Pro)

GP

Hi guys,
thanks for your input! You may be right, that this is (was ) in color. Right now I'm working on a b&w version. As you already observed, Glenna, it's nearly impossible to even out her skin tone. Maybe later I will recolorize it. I have never done that, but this would be a good opportunity to try. ::)