• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Sharper image?

Started by Patre, October 18, 2007, 10:16:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Patre

The three images here attached are the original damaged image and my two attempts at restoring it
I am looking for suggestions on how to give the images a cleaner,sharper, crisper and more
professional look. I am not a digital artist, so I am not confident that I could repaint the faces
in such a way as to improve their authenticity. I used channel mixing, levels adjustments, all of the healing tools and cloning. I worked with the unsharp mask, despeckle and dust and scratches filter, and painted in some flawed areas. I am not sure what I else I can do to give this image a cleaner more professional look.
Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Pat

glennab

Hi Pat,

This photo looks like a perfect one on which to use the multiply layer blending mode.  Try copying the original to a new layer and set it to multiply.  I suspect that if you do that at least once – possibly more than that– you'll be amazed at the detail that will appear in the light areas at the top of the image.

In this iteration I duped the layer twice, multiplied it and set the opacity of the two multiplied layers at 50%.  I flattened the image and looked at the channels.  The blue one gave the most information, so I copied it to a new document and tweaked the levels just a bit.  I'd use something like this and just touch it up rather than trying to recreate the faces, because it's preferable to have a little less detail and keep the look of the original.  It needs some masking and more tweaking, but here's my two cents, for what it's worth.

Cheers!

Glenna
What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal. ~Albert Pine

(Photoshop CS5 /Mac Pro)

Patre

Thanks Glenna,
I will give it a try..
Pat

Ausimax

Hi Pat,