• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

New member intro and advice for a specific photo

Started by Chuck, June 15, 2011, 05:54:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chuck

My name is Chuck Norcutt from Endwell, NY.  I'm a new volunteer and have just recently received my first image.  Unfortunately, almost no sooner did I get it when I found out I'm going to be traveling fairly extensively for the next month and won't be able to work on it.  I'm a retired photographer and such travel is not typical for me... just bad timing right now.  But I did work on it a little and in the process and after a little research I ended up generating several questions which need answers before the image is finished.  For purposes of discussion I've uploaded a downsized version of the image to my own web site where you can see it here:
<http://www.chucknorcutt.com/OPR/RotertJ24_11_8x10.jpg>

I first posed these questions by mail with Victoria Walters.  She suggested I take it up with a distribution coordinator.  Since the image came from Hannie's gallery I also posed them to her and her comments follow later on.

So, take a look at the image using my link above and consider:

[1] The first issue is the very prominent "proof stamp" at lower left which appears to be from the firm "Woodward & Woodward" which, my research tells me, was a photographic firm active from the late 1800s to about 1940. <http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Underwood_%26_Underwood>