• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Hello!

Started by puravida, March 04, 2010, 03:21:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

puravida

Hi!  I am a 28-year old occupational therapist from northern California who does photography and retouching/photo editing on the side.  I have done some photo restoration work for family and friends and am excited to learn more and be part of OPR.  I was a Peace Corps volunteer for a couple of years and during that time lost at least half of the pictures that I took, including all the pictures I took of the little girls that I spent most of my time working with.  It wasn't due to natural disaster, but it still broke my heart.  I don't know if/when I'll see those little ones again, and when I do they will surely not be "little" girls anymore.  So needless to say I'm excited to be able to help other people salvage precious memories.  The newest adventure in my life is being a mother to a 2-month-old, so I will be doing what I can during naptimes.  I am excited to be a part of this amazing project!
Jen

glennab

Hi Jen

Welcome to OPR from Florida, and congratulations on your new baby!  Two adventures all at once.  Lucky lady!

I'm getting close to the 4-year mark with this awesome organization, and it just gets better and better. Working on the restorations is the joy of my life, since my kids are grown and grandkids are nearly so.  I think you'll be happy you joined, because not only will you have the rewards of returning people's nearly-lost history to them, but if you choose to participate in the forum, you'll learn more than you'd ever expect as the rest of us try to help each other slog through the muck, post observations and share tutorials.

I can't imagine a more wonderful group of people, and our newbies enrich us even more.  I'm glad you're with us.

Cheers,

GK
What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal. ~Albert Pine

(Photoshop CS5 /Mac Pro)

Mhayes