• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

My first Work in Progress

Started by phischer, July 02, 2007, 02:03:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

phischer

Hi, I'm new to OPR and would like to show my work so far for a little feedback.  I chose this one thinking it wouldn't be too bad.  That was one of the worst judgement errors I have ever made in my life. :D
Here's the original:

By phischer at 2007-07-01
Here's my work so far:

Here's a detail closeup on the face:

I think the face has come out pretty good so far. My concern is with the fact that this one was originally an 11 X 14. I don't know that I will ever be able to restore this to a state where they will be able to make a decent print of it that size. I think it would look ok at half that size maybe. Does anyone know a way that I can smooth out the face a little? Any suggestions for recreating the left hand/arm and foot?  What is she sitting on? Thanks in advance.

Phil

Ausimax

Hi Phil,

Really giving yourself a baptism of fire aren't you. This is a bit I did on your face, it was all done with the healing brush tool on a separate layer with the tool set to sample all layers, all the work was done with the brush indexed to the spot with the cross on the forehead, work following natural contours as much as possible, using a small brush (about half the size of his eye) at 100% hardness.

When working near other colours use a very small brush and you can get very close then you have to use the clone to avoid colour bleeding. you may have to work an area several times to blend in the colours working from good to bad, you can always improve you colours when you have the damage repaired, by creating another layer and setting the mode to colour then painting with various sampled skin tones.

I think you need to move the right eye a little more to the right, he looks very cross-eyed at present

Hope this is of some use to you.

Max