• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Tips for repairing damage to both color and luminosity?

Started by Mike Morrell, September 27, 2017, 07:25:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mike Morrell

Hi OPR Photoshoppers,

I'm a newbie to OPR and not an expert in Photoshop. The damage to most OPR photo's is both in color and luminosity. I'm familiar with WB/color correction, cloning/patching and spot removal techniques/filters etc.  Something I'm still not sure about is the best way to correct damage to both color and luminosity. Especially on skin, faces, etc.

What I've found helpful so far is putting corrections to color and luminosity on separate layers. This is the same 'frequency separation' principle used in retouching but because the damage in OPR photos is often much more extensive than 'minor skin blemishes', I've adjusted it.

Color:
- create a blank layer (with 'normal' blend mode) above the working layer; check that this is the active layer
- click on the color sample tool and set the size of the color sample area to the smallest areas of 'undamaged color'(down to 3x3 or point sampling, if need be);  set the color sample mode to 'current and below'
- click on the brush tool and set the brush mode to 'color'
- using the brush, sample the the closest undamaged color (windows: cntrl i) and paint over the color-damaged areas on the new layer
- the result is a layer with the closest colors but still with all the damage to luminosity

Luminosity
- create a new blank layer above the original (with 'normal' blend mode); check that the color sampling mode is still 'current and layer below'
- click on the brush tool and set the brush mode to 'luminosity'
- using the brush, sample the the closest undamaged area of luminosity (windows: cntrl i) and paint over the luminosity-damaged areas on the new layer
- together with the color adjustment layer, the result is the best blend of color/luminosity from the undamaged areas

Tweaks