• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

approaching deadline! any suggestions...

Started by pixelz, November 22, 2006, 06:58:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

pixelz

Hey all,

This is my first project for oprworkshop and I wanna get it right! :)

Here's the original:
http://www.ncri.org.uk/images/other/original_forWeb.jpg

and here's my reconstruction so far:
http://www.ncri.org.uk/images/other/retouched_forWeb.jpg

There are still a couple of things still to do on this, but wanted to ask you guys if you had any ideas on fixing the kinda honeycomb damage on the faces especially around the noses (and mouth of the man) - have tried everything from simple healing brush/stamp tool painting to adjustment layers, but it all comes out too painted-looking. Going for realism here...

Any ideas anybody? Also constructibve critisism very welcome!

Thanks all!

Gareth
The saints are coming ...

pixelz

Oh yeah, I havn't forgotten the sepia tone - will def add at the end of the process!
;)

Kenny

Hmm, I remember seeing a post where someone was talking about that very thing. I think it might have been Leah. I'll search around and see if I can find it.

Kenny :)

*Edit..

I found it! Go here:   http://www.oprworkshop.org/forum/index.php?topic=383.0

What causes that pattern, by the way? I was always curious.

But why is the rum gone?

glennab

Hi Kenny -

I'm wondering if the photo was pressed to something like net before it was recovered, causing the honeycomb effect. It doesn't look like paper texture or any sort of painterly effect.

I'm trying to post as I'm surrounded by very vocal grandchildren (I'm having the time of my life with 5 of the 7 -- played a little soccer yesterday -- very little, since the first catch sent me end-over-end and scared them all to death.  They wouldn't even play with me after that - very protective since I broke my back a few years ago.  I was fine, but they wouldn't play with me.  Waaaaa!)

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

GG