• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Level of detail we are after?

Started by ReactionStudios, November 02, 2006, 06:35:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ReactionStudios

I am new to OPR and this is my first restoration in this program. I wanted to post my results thus far and see if this is the level of detail and restoring we are striving for. Is there anything else I would need to do to this image?

ORIGINAL

RESTORED

Thanks!-
|shawn|

Kenny

Hey Shawn, and welcome to the forum!

What you've done so far looks really good. I would suggest repairing the trophy. It appears to have one good side, so it should be relatively easy to fix. I would try to do something with the upper right of the image. The doors in the background and the wall will be easy to fix. I'm really not sure what to do with the girl on the upper right. Maybe just fix the wall and leave her as is.  You might try to clean up the bottom a little. They all have the same uniforms, so you can sample those for the repair.

Oh, and you might add a sepia tone back to make it look more like the original

Kenny :)

But why is the rum gone?

ReactionStudios

Thanks for the feedback, Kenny.

I am still trying to get my head around the liberties we can take with the restoration. I can repair the trophy, windows and wall (to the right) and possible add some detail to the bottom row of shirts and arms.

I am not sure if I should make it Sepia though. I would imagine the original photo was black and white. I think because of wear, tear, humidity and acidity it has turned yellowish over the years. Another thing that makes me wonder is that Sepia tone is reddish-brown and the original is yellowish. Hmmm? Is Becky around? Maybe I can send her an email to verify. Sepia tone FX is not hard to do at all, so I might save that for last, just in case.

Thanks again for the feedback, it's much appreciated!
|shawn|

Kenny