• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Restoration Strategy

Started by jfharrison, January 03, 2012, 06:10:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jfharrison

Hi Folks,

My name is Jared Harrison and I'm new to OPR.  I've received my initial restoration project and could use some "strategy" guidance on how best to proceed with some of the more challenging portions of this restoration.

While I've been doing "normal" restorations for a while -- most have been on old/damaged B/W photo with genealogical significance.  I feel fairly comfortable with the basic concepts of color photo restoration and the use of Photoshop's basic tools & techniques.  In addition, I've studied all the guides and tutorials on this site, as well as the usual books by Eismann, Ctein, etc.  Regardless, I know that I still have a lot to learn...

Where I feel least confident (and certainly least experienced) is in the area of facial reconstruction and the skills needed for "beauty" retouching -- making a reconstructed face look "right".

So here is my challenge photo: 

Here is the image after some initial cleanup:

If possible, I'd love to get some guidance and suggestions on how best to proceed with the restoration of the left side of the image and the woman's sweater, neck, ear and hair.

Here is what I'm currently thinking:

• Since so little of the sweater is undamaged, I might select the damaged area of the sweater and copy it to a layer and then "fill/paint" it with samples sweater color and then attempt to patch and heal to restore the sweater's look and texture

• I am thinking of a similar strategy for the woman's neck -- select the damaged area, apply color, and then attempt to restore skin texture & shading

• For the left cheek and chin, I think there should be enough info available to clone, patch & heal to come-up with a reasonable result -- although I am concerned about getting the shading and texture right.