• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Max's Difficult Restoration

Started by Ausimax, August 09, 2006, 07:17:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ausimax

Hi,

This is my first attempt, I would appreciate your comments and advice.

The face of the Mother and the daughter on the right (your right) don't look as bad as that in the high res image, I would have liked to reduce the shine on their foreheads, but nothing I tried ended up looking natural, any advice here would be helpful.

Max
Wisdom is having a well considered opinion .... and being smart enough to keep it to yourself!     MJS

"Life" is what happens while you are planning other things!

Kenny

Max, it looks good  :up:

The only nitpicks I have is the girl on the right's hair looks a bit faded. You might try the burn tool and lightly darken it to see how it looks. Also, there are a couple of places on the curtains on the right that look like they could use a little touchup. Overall, though, it's a great restroration!  :up:

Kenny

Ps. I''ll post this to show you what I mean:

But why is the rum gone?

Ausimax

Thanks Kenny,

I'll have a go at those spots, its good to get another view on it, after you have been working on it for a while you start to loose perspective, and see spots before your eyes. :D

Max
Wisdom is having a well considered opinion .... and being smart enough to keep it to yourself!     MJS

glennab

Hi Max

Nice job!  What a challenge.

I wanted to suggest that the lighter areas on the women's foreheads that concern you could be adjusted by making a selection around the light areas, give it a good feather (I'd probably do 5-8px) and then experiment with your levels to see if you can get the contrast down a little.  that might also work on the areas of the drapes that are less intense in color than the rest.  It's trial & error with the feathering and levels but sometimes it takes care of the issue.