• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Should I crop? - newbie question

Started by mgalante, December 14, 2008, 12:14:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mgalante

I am brand new at this and selected an image that is possibly over my head.  But my first question: is it ever appropriate to crop?  I think I can get most of the older girl's arm, but I have no idea how to reconstruct her hand.  Suggestions please  - and I would appreciate some feedback as to whether the work I have done already is on the right track.
Thanks! - Mandy

Candice

Cropping is generally not done.  As for the hand, when you get to that area, there are a great many that will help and have the experience to do so.  Don't worry we don't bite!   :knuppel:   :)
Candice

glennab

Mandy, welcome to OPR.  I think what you've done so far looks great.  As for cropping, we try not to do any if at all possible, but in a case like this, I'd check with my distribution coordinator and find out if a bit of judicious trimming would be appropriate.  I've had at least one instance in which I've gotten the okay to crop and then bring the image back up to its original size. There are times when that's preferable to trying to recreate what you can't see.

Cheers,

GK
What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal. ~Albert Pine

(Photoshop CS5 /Mac Pro)

haleygd

Maybe a strong vignette to help mask what is lost...

Gary
Windows 7 & CS5 Design Premium, restoration in work photos uploaded at GaryHaley.photoshop.com

Candice

Vignette would have to be something you'd take up with Margie.  I've read somewhere that it's been discouraged here with some exceptions.  You can ask and see if you're the exception.

Hugs,
Bets

Candice

Mhayes