• Welcome to Operation Photo Rescue's Online Community.

Maybe more than I can chew...

Started by RandyC, October 02, 2008, 12:24:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RandyC

I have probably bit off more than I thought I could handle...

Any suggestions...???
I am not very good at repainting in a realistic fashion...so i tried to deter from that but,
i cannot think of any other methods to smooth out the skin more and retain definition...?

glennab

Hi Randy

So far, so good!  To smooth his face and collar, I'd try the patch tool.  I've found it a good way to even out rough areas.  Often I'll clone patches that are really mucked up, then go back and use the patch tool to pull good skin from other areas (i.e. his forehead) to ease the mottled look.  Best to do this on a duplicate layer, because the patch tool is one that won't work with "all layers turned on."  You have to work with the original. Don't try to use patches that are too large.  Try to maintain the shading as best you can, but you can always go back and dodge & burn or whatever works for you to get the contours back.  I find that when there's that much discrepancy in the texture and I use the healing brush, I end up with very odd artifacts in spots.

Your background looks fine, but it appears that you masked him from the original.  Try to smooth that transition with a little feathering or blur on the mask.  If you didn't use a mask, go to layers, matting, defringe, give it a pixel value and see if that blends him a bit better.  (Two might even work, but I've found that 1 usually does the job.

Good luck!  You chose a real bear, brave soul.

Cheers,

GK

What we do for ourselves dies with us. What we do for others and the world remains and is immortal. ~Albert Pine

(Photoshop CS5 /Mac Pro)

Johnboy

Randy,